UNOFFICIAL MINUTES OF MEETING To be approved at the next annual budget meeting

TOWN OF MONROE November 15, 2018 Annual Budget Meeting

The meeting was brought to order by Chairman Todd Hasse at 6:37 p.m.

The Clerk verified that the OPEN MEETING notices were posted on October 31, 2018, at the Monroe Town Hall, Recycling Center, Helena Chemical Co, and the Town of Monroe website. Our Annual Budget Meeting was published in the Monroe Times on 10/31/18. WEKZ and Monroe Times were also notified.

Board members present: Hasse, Spotts, Bieneman, Murphy, and Sutter

Other attendees: Jeff Lanz, Kris Hasse, Carol Mayer, Phil Vosberg, Steve Gorton Minutes of the November 15, 2017 budget meeting were read by the Chair. Motion by Mike Lambert, seconded by Jeff Lanz to accept. Motion carried.

The 2019 Proposed Budget was distributed by the	Clerk. A review of the Budget followed.
Proposed Budget total expected Expenses	\$313,924.79
Proposed Budget total expected Revenues	<u>\$167,628.79</u>

TOWNSHIP TAX LEVY \$ 146,296.00 (.949% Increase)

Motion by Phil Vosberg, seconded by Jeff Lanz, to **adopt the 2018 Town Tax Levy of \$146,296.00** to be paid in 2019, pursuant to Section 60.10(1)(A) of Wisconsin Statutes. Voting Aye 10, voting No 0, Abstaining, 0. Motion carried. The Clerk shall complete online with the WI Department of Revenue the necessary forms by December 17th.

Motion by Karen Sutter, seconded by Todd Hasse, to approve the total 2019 Highway Expenses pursuant to Section 81.01(3) of the Wis. Stat. Expenditures shall not exceed \$300,000.00 Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Mike Lambert, seconded by Steve Gorton, to approve combining the Clerk and Treasurer positions for Spring 2019 elections pursuant to Section 60.10 (1)(b)(2) under 60.305 (1); subject to an annual audit under Section 60.43 (2) of Wisconsin Statutes. Ayes 11, No. Motion carried.

Motion by Karen Sutter, seconded by Carol Mayer, to leave the yearly Street Light fee at \$26.00 per specific residence. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Phil Vosberg, seconded by Kris Hasse, to leave the yearly Garbage Collection charge at \$75.00 per residence. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Kris Hasse, seconded by Carol Mayer, to leave the Election workers hourly wage at \$10.00 per hour. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Todd Hasse, seconded by Carol Mayer, to raise the Patrolman 1 hourly wage to \$18.50 per hour. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Patrolman 1 – cell phone fee each month of \$25.00, clothing allowance of \$250.00 per year, use of personal vehicle to be paid the current Federal mileage rate, time and a half is paid on holidays, weekends, and/or an emergency call out during the hours of 6 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Motion by Chad Spotts, seconded by Phil Vosberg, to leave the Patrolman 2 hourly wage at \$15.00 per hour. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Patrolman 2 – use of personal vehicle to be paid the current Federal mileage rate, time and a half is paid on holidays, weekends, and/or an emergency call out during the hours of 6 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Motion by Jeff Lanz, seconded by Kris Hasse, to leave the Recycling Attendant hourly wage at \$15.00 per hour (wage was raised during June at a regular monthly meeting). Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Elected officials salary:

To establish the compensation of the elected town officials for the two-year term of office, to begin April 2019, pursuant to Section 60.32 and 60.10 (1)(b)(1) of Wisconsin Statutes.

Motion by Phil Vosberg, seconded by Jeff Lanz, to raise the Town Chair annual salary to \$6,000. Ayes 1, No 10. Motion did not carry.

Motion by Karen Sutter, seconded by Francy Bieneman, to raise the Town Chair annual salary to \$7,000. Ayes 11, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Mike Lambert, seconded by Jeff Lanz, to change the Clerk/Treasurer annual salary to \$17,000. Ayes 10, No 0. Motion carried.

Motion by Phil Vosberg, seconded by Francy Bieneman, to leave the Supervisor I and Supervisor II annual salaries at \$3,000. Motion carried.

With no further business to conduct, motion by Kris Hasse, seconded by Carol Mayer, to adjourn. Motion carried. It is now 8:16 p.m.

Peggy Murphy, Clerk